Busan Metropolitan City

Search
About
Busan
City
Government
Culture
& Tourism
Transportation
Business
Residents
Help

Residents

National Holidays

Residents > National Holidays

Korean Holidays in 2019

Korean Holidays in 2019
Day Date National Holiday
Monday January 1 New Year's Day in the solar calendar
Monday February 4 Korean New Year Holiday
Tuesday February 5 New Year's Day in the lunar calendar
Wednesday February 6 Korean New Year Holiday
Friday March 1 Independence Movement Day
Sunday May 5 Children's Day
Monday May 6 Substitute day for Children's Day
Sunday May 12 Buddha's Birthday
Thursday June 6 Memorial Day
Thursday August 15 Liberation Day
Thursday September 12 Chuseok (Korean Thanksgiving)
Friday September 13 Chuseok Holiday (Day after Chuseok)
Saturday September 14 Substitute day for Chuseok
Thursday October 3 National Foundation Day
Wednesday October 9 Hangul Day - also called Hangul Proclamation Day or Korean Alphabet Day
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day
  • Two of most celebrated and important holidays are New Year's Day in the lunar calendar and Chuseok (Korean Thanksgiving Day).
    Many shops and museums will be closed on Lunar New Year and Chuseok but not necessarily on other holidays.